Skip to main content

Access Center

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

8:00 AM - 8:40 AM
Check-In and Breakfast
Location: Living Room

8:40 AM-8:50 AM
Opening Remarks
Presenter: Luci Loera, AVP for Access, Equity and Achievement

9:00 AM - 9:50 AM 
Opening & Keynote Speaker
Location: Living Room
Topic: Nothing About Us, Without Us: The Inclusion of Scholars with Disabilities and Disability Scholarship in Academia
Presenter: Davi Kallman, Professional Development Graduate Assistant
Information: davi.kallman@wsu.edu.

10:00 AM – 10:50 AM
First Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Brandon Brackett, Assistant Director & Juli Anderson, Access Advisor
    Topic:  Gallup Strengths Mindset
    Information:  brandon_brackett@wsu.edu, juli_anderson@wsu.edu.
  • Room 2: Holly Ashkannejhad, Assistant Director, Office for Equal Opportunity
    Topic: Helpful Tips for Compliance with Executive Policy 15 for Faculty or Instructors Working with Students or Staff with Disabilities
    Contact: holly.ashkannejhad@wsu.edu.

11:00 AM – 11:50 AM 
Second Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Dr. Brenda Barrio, Assistant Professor, Teaching and Learning
    Topic: Examining the Intersect of Culture, DisAbility, and Social Justice in Education
    Contact: brenda.barrio@wsu.edu.
  • Room 2: Katie Noble, Violence Prevention Educator, Health and Wellness Services
    Topic:  Understanding the Impact of Mental Health in College
    Contact:  katie.noble@wsu.edu.

12:00 PM – 12:50 PM
Lunch and Debrief with Table Questions
Location: Living Room

1:00 PM – 1:50 PM 
Third Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Kimberly Anderson, Executive Director, Office for Equal Opportunity
    Topic: Accessibility Initiatives at WSU
    Contact: anderson34@wsu.edu
  • Room 2: Gabriel Morales, Assistive Technology Coordinator, Access Center, Sierra Wu, Disability Awareness Coordinator, Access Center
    Topic:  Reading & Notetaking Tools 
    Contact: gabriel.morales@wsu.edu.

2:00 PM – 2:50 PM
Fourth Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Dr. Jenifer Barclay, Assistant Professor, CES
    Topic:  Rethinking Ability & Challenging Ableism
    Information: jenifer.barclay@wsu.edu.
  • Room 2: Dr. Leeann Hunter, Clinical Assistant Professor, English
    Topic: Empowerment through Storytelling, Passport Program
    Contact: leeann.hunter@wsu.edu.

2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Resource Fair
Location: Living Room

3:00 PM – 3:50 PM 
Fifth Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Leslie Gwartney, Coordinator, Raven Scholars, University of Idaho
    Topic:  College & Autism Spectrum
    Contact: leslieag@uidaho.edu.
  • Room 2: Acacia Kapusta, Residential Education Director, Northside Hall
    Topic: Ableism in Our Everyday Language
    Contact: acacia.kapusta@wsu.edu.

4:00 PM – 4:50 PM
Sixth Session of Presentations
Location: Knowledge Rooms

  • Room 1: Wendy Steele, Multimedia Specialist & Online Learning Accessibility Manager
    Topic:  Quick Tips for Creating Digitally Accessible Course Content
    Information:  wsteele@wsu.edu.
  • Room 2: Nigel Joseph, Graduate Student
    Topic: Accepting Limitations to Hone Greatness
    Contact:  nigel.joseph@wsu.edu.

5:00 PM – 5:20 PM
Day 1 Closing Remarks
Location: Living Room
Presenter: Meredyth Goodwin, Access Center Director
Information: m.goodwin@wsu.edu.